Nov 2017 – Peebles wild camp and visit to the Great Polish Map of Scotland

Having arrived at my usual spot, in the Meldons, for a quick wild camp I couldn’t believe the amount of rubbish that some group had left after a fireworks party at some point over the past few days. After setting up it took less than half an hour to fill 3 bags full of the cans, bottles and used fireworks.

I tried a couple of time to do a Facebook Live but the signal wasn’t strong enough to keep the video connected. I did try again later but was just the same. With time getting on I was ready for some food. Chilli  was on the menu but instead of rice I had spaghetti…just felt like a bit of pasta…after all it’s just a spicy spag bog with some added kidney beans 🙂

It was a cracking night, and a light one at that, when the clouds eventually went away. It was so peaceful just sitting back in the chair by the fire, with a glass of red wine, while looking at the night sky with the sound of the river in the background.

This is what I was trying to show on Facebook Live


 

Great Polish Map of Scotland
DCIM100MEDIADJI_0869.JPG

On the way home I stopped off to see the Great Polish Map of Scotland in the grounds of the Mercure Hotel at Eddleston.

I knew of this but in all the years I’ve passed the hotel I never stopped off to see it. However it’s only recently it’s been fully restored and now has the water around it which I wasn’t expecting to see after reading some posts a few weeks ago with people commenting the water hadn’t been turned on yet. There’s a few pictures here but they certainly don’t do it any justice whatsoever. You really have to see it to get the full effect of the cartography.

cof

Here’s their website www.mapascotland.org which gives a great aerial view which you don’t really get when visiting it but it’s certainly worth seeing if down that way.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.