Modifications and New Kit – ongoing

dsc_4412.jpg

Gas Bottle Holder

I got the gas bottle holder on Friday, that a local guy had made up for me, so managed to get it fitted to the rear storage box. It makes it more accessible and doesn’t take space on the roof rack. This is used with the gas conversion for the Coleman Dual Fuel Stove though I still carry the petrol tank for it as back up at times. It’s just so much easier to use with gas and just as powerful with Propane Gas.


DSC_4410

Spot Light Bracket

The guy also made up an alloy bar to take the front spots so they’re all wired in and working though having trouble with the middle one coming on so a bit more work needed there.


sdr Rear Storage Box

I’ve also stripped the black vinyl off the rear box and had it replaced ready for some new destination stickers and countries. Just the number plate, a stick on one, and the light to fit from the spare wheel on the other door so very straight forward to move it over.

 

 


img_0479.jpg

Showering Facilities

I was pleased to discover an outside water hose under Tilley when looking where to cut the water pipe inside to add one in for use with a shower or hose. It was tucked way up under the rear chassis so I’m now going to extend it to the other side where I’ll fit a shut off valve…it was initially sealed waiting to be used. Saved a lot of work. Must have on-board shower facilities…it’ll be working out the hot water next.


 

I replaced the radio, which was a DAB but didn’t have bluetooth or the facility for a separate microphone. I tried using the Garmin Streetmap with Bluetooth and hands free for the phone however the unit was too far away and also picked up too much of the noise inside the cab. The new Sony came with a mic I could wire to a small boom so when needed just pull it down right in front of me which works a treat. Just need to suss out better speakers and where to install them…maybe behind somewhere as well as in the front. Plus I need to make a nice end cap for the bolt fixing the boom to the shelf.

cof



Front windscreen and side 
window blackout screens

Another job needing done was some sort of blackout blinds for the windscreen and side windows at the front. I couldn’t believe the price companies are charging for these so decided to make my own from Halfords silver interior sun shades at £9.99 each…only needed a large and a small.

The side windows were simply cut to fit exactly on the inside of the door windows and a nice snug fit meant they stayed in place themselves. I did however order the grommet and sucker kit so they would stick to the glass but I thing having tried one out it would be too much suction and damage the material pulling on and off all the time. Thing is, they don’t fall off anyway so no need just now.  The main windscreen is just a complete one needing nothing done to it so all good!


30mm Rear Wheel Spacers

One of the first mods made to the vehicle was to add the rear wheel spacers. Having had a good long chat with Pete, from Atlas Overland who’s now on his 3rd Troopy, I took his advice to fit the spacers for a more stable drive. I’d also heard the same from watching some YouTube videos but there’s nothing better than getting first hand advice from someone who knows these vehicles inside out.
spv005_10x5
I have to say I could feel the difference right away when going round the first roundabout on the way home, the first corner I’d come to…there was certainly less roll in the body.

Though the spacers are only 30mm, and not the full 50mm which would have matched the track exactly to the front wheels, they still make a huge difference. Fitting 50mm spacers would be putting too much stress on the bearing so not advised.  Obviously like any spacers you need to keep an eye on them as some have been known to loosen off resulting in losing your wheel!


 

2 thoughts on “Modifications and New Kit – ongoing”

  1. Remind me please dear friend; what is the UK law on gas bottles in holders outside the vehicle? And also who you used for the propane conversion kit – preferable not just “flea-bay” please! Oh, and btw…resting from Faceache so following you here, haven’t forgotten the Buschtaxi meet and UK Troopy get-togethers, just busy with Africa, surgery, ailing mother, RTA, and ailing mother again. Kettle on in Oxford if you’re passing – bring HobNobs!! 😉
    Cheers, Bud.

    Like

    1. You see plenty 4×4’s with them on their roofs so I thought I’d get a bracket made for it on top of the alloy box. Easier to get to 🙂

      You can get the conversion kits from the US…just google Coleman Duel Fuel gas conversion.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.